Gluten-free pancakes

Sunday is my cheat day and I decided to keep cheat days as clean as possible. This past weekend however, I had to make an exception for my boyfriend’s son’s birthday party. (Could not skip on the cake, ice cream, and veggie pizza :).)

Anywho… I made gluten-free pancakes and strawberry syrup as a birthday breakfast meal. I was not a huge fan of the Gluten-Free Pancake Mix I brought because it contained rice flour witha whole bunch of other ingredients I could not pronounce. Ingredients I’m pretty sure were added for preservation and to make rice flour fry like pancakes.

Gluten-free pancakes with homemade strawberry syrup. Pancakes made with rice flour

I did find some quinoa flour so we’ll see how that goes next Sunday.

Strawberry Syrup Recipe

  • Organic raw sugar
  • Fresh Strawberries – as many as you like
  • Small amount of butter if you like – I have this thing for buttery syrup… hehe
  • Chop the strawberries as desired and add to heated, buttered pan. Add sugar to the pan. I eyeball the amount of sugar and usually add when the pan is hot so I can tell how much liquid I might be getting. Then heat strawberries and sugar until liquid begins to form. If you want your strawberries to contain some of that tart freshness, don’t cook too long. Cook until you have the desired amount of syrup.
  • Enjoy! šŸ™‚
3 thoughts on “Gluten-free pancakes

Leave a Reply

